First Snow by Kathy Larson

©2009
Kathy Larson

First Snow

A peek through the blinds;
it’s there.
A pale shroud blanketing our cars
beneath the arc-sodium light
of early dawn.
Damn.

Not so long ago, first snow
would have sent me scurrying
to tickle my child awake.
Get up! Come see! It snowed!
Huddled together,
Laughing.

In a time fast becoming distant,
I believed in the magic
of first snow.
Baptized in crystal splendour
the world beckoned, offered
Hope
Glory
Promise.

But, see,
as dawn fades to dusk,
first snow becomes
any snow, becomes last snow.
And all it is, in the end,
is cold and wet.
A veil of frozen tears,
over promises never kept.

4 Comments

  1. Susan said,

    October 17, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    I like it Kathy – the last stanza especially has a lot of symbolism in it – I never knew you were so gifted with the pen! Great poem 🙂

  2. Jenn said,

    October 21, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    That was beautiful! I have never read anything you’ve written before, even though Landon rants and raves about the column you used to write in one of the news papers. Very beautiful! I am lucky still though, cause the First Snow fall is still magical to me with these grandkids of yours 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      October 22, 2009 at 4:14 am

      Thank you, Jenn. I love that you came and read my poem. Kids are what makes everything in life special. It’s my memories of those times with Landon that can always bring me joy.


Leave a Reply

