It’s a sunny Sunday mornin’

Spring is coming -- I promise!

Spring is around the corner -- I promise!

Good day, all!  I’m sooo happy, because the sun is shining!  Two days in a row!  Can you dig it? 

Consider this:  CBC reported recently that since the start of the new year, we (Alberta, in particular the north-central region) have had 28 days of fog.  28!  In the middle of bloody winter!  Now, if we were in Vancouver, or Halifax, I could understand, but here in the middle of the prairies? 

So, my happiness aside, this brings my thoughts back around to the end of the world.  Strange correlation, I know, but humour me. . . 

Lately, there’s been a spate of end of the world pictures — 2012, The Road, 9 — to name just a few, and I can’t help thinking that maybe, just maybe . . . but that’s just conspiracy-think, so I’ll try and stop it. 

Truthfully, though, when we were experiencing all that fog and gray skies and gloom, I couldn’t help wondering what it would be like to have to live in a world with no sunshine.  I’m telling you, my mood sure started to tank quickly, and I pop 2000 IU’s of Vitamin D a day.  Living in that kind of bleakness perpetually we’d see some strange social dysfunctions manifest in short order.  Hopefully, not as dire as those Cormac McCarthy thought up for his post-apocolyptic world.

One thing I know for sure, is that this weather really affects kids, and this comes from working with them.  Their behaviours ramp up, they become increasingly restless, increasingly difficult to motivate and far more emotional than usual.  More school yard fights, detentions and just plain dumb stuff happened during those dark days than we’ve ever experienced before.

Add to that their extreme impressionability after watching movies like 2012 and guess what?  Their imaginations and their naivete gets the best of them.  I’ve got one kid asking me doomsday questions just about every day.  Like, if I knew the world was going to end, would I choose to die or to fight to live?  If, after surviving, I knew that something terrible would happen and there was no way I was going to live, would I want to die quickly or live as long as I could? 

I try to treat his questions with a measure of seriousness, because, after all, he’s asking because this is something he’s given a lot of thought to, but at the same time, I try to instill a little of the old you-know-the-world’s-not-going-to-end, that’s-only-a-movie, right? reassurance in there, along with a bright, sunny smile so that he doesn’t catch on that adults sometimes have those same thoughts, too. 

. . . that was one helluva long run-on sentence! . . .

. . . anyway. . .

I’m doing my best today to just be gloriously happy that the sun is shining and that this is 2010, the end of February.  Spring is a mere 4 weeks away.  Soon we’ll have rain and green and sweet smelling air.  The birds will be back, and I’ll be able to have all my windows open again. 

I will not dwell on the fact that there has been another massive earthquake and another tsunami.  No, I won’t.

Leave a Reply

