Rocks

Inspired by new rock garden.

Rocks

If trees are the breath of the world,
then rocks are its soul.

They hold within their petrified  hearts
the stilled pulse of the world.

Transplanted from river beds and
ancient gorges to my suburban

garden they lend an air of indifferent
grandeur.  I have stolen them

From whence they came;  a poor attempt
at communion.  They bear it well.

Jutting and jagged they sit among the lilies
and the poppies.  With ancient calm

they breathe their memory of place into
mine.  And the earth and the air

and the birds and I listen intently,
then tuck their whispered song

into our living  hearts.

© Kathy Larson 2010

8 thoughts on “Rocks

    1. Thank you, Chloe! I will definitely check out your blog. (Just sneaking a break right now from the work on the rock garden.) I live in Canada, so we just celebrated Canada Day on the 1st. Hope you have a lovely July 4th!

  1. Dear Kathy,

    Weaving relationships in the world is a sacred art.

    You ar a master, with words…and your heart.

    I loved it. Kathryn.

Leave a comment