In response to Viewfromtheside’s weekend challenge

I just thought I would try this after visiting TheOnlyCin’s blog and seeing the challenge and her response to it.

Thanks to Viewfromtheside for the opportunity.

http://viewfromtheside.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/weekend-challenge-17-september-2010/

© 2010 Kathy Larson

September 17, 2010

The Beat of My Heart

As the years slide on by

I question it more and more

This pulse, my life force.

What once felt trapped

And often raged, blindly,

Now feels caged. . .

. . .from time to time

There is a flutter within,

A pounding of fists,

And moments of joy

Of sorrow of anger

Swell the dams and burst

Through to memory.

And I, remembering why

Place a trembling hand there

And smile.  This is mine,

This uncertain beat.

17 Comments

  1. Jenn said,

    September 19, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    That’s simply beautiful mom!

  2. cindy said,

    September 19, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    I agree with Jenn, beautiful writing.

  3. souldipper said,

    September 19, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    So beautifully written and what a story it tells.

  4. September 21, 2010 at 11:04 am

    this is beautiful. thanks for joining in, i hope you’ll do so again in future

  5. granny1947 said,

    September 23, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    That is lovely…well done.

    • klrs09 said,

      September 24, 2010 at 6:50 am

      Thank you Granny, nice to hear from you.

  6. Jamie Dedes said,

    September 28, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Wow! The whole family is behind you and reading and commenting. Great! Like to see that.

    Well done poem. You rose to the challenge and you did it well. I like “there is a flutter within, a pounding of fists …” Evocative. Nice.

    Poem on …

    • klrs09 said,

      September 28, 2010 at 5:20 pm

      Thanks Jamie. I truly appreciate any comments or critiques you may offer.

  7. granny1947 said,

    October 2, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    And now???
    No new post?

    • klrs09 said,

      October 5, 2010 at 9:27 pm

      Hi Granny — sorry, been up to my eyeballs in meetings, grievances, complaints, concerns. . . . hopefully I’ll get back to more ‘fun’ stuff soon! Take care.

  8. Chloe said,

    October 13, 2010 at 4:59 am

    This is beautiful..it reminds me that we should be grateful for who we are..and that we should listen to our hearts. I love your use of rhyme too…xx

    • klrs09 said,

      October 13, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      Thank you Chloe — so nice to hear from you

      • Chloe said,

        October 14, 2010 at 1:13 pm

        Thank you – I’ve been out of action for a coupla weeks for various reasons, but I am back now and will be blogging like there is no tomorrow…well…you know what I mean! lol xx


Leave a Reply

