November 13, 2010 Remembrance Day Weekend — Part 1

Life is like a fast car -- it zips by -- and you better be paying attention or you'll miss it.

Well, hello!  It’s been awhile, hasn’t it?  I’ve had no time at all lately, but now, I am away for 5 days visiting relatives in Lethbridge and I’ve made some time to sit down and do a bit o’ bloggin’.

We came down to attend a couple of Remembrance Day ceremonies in honour of my husband’s father, who served as a tail gunner in WWII.  He passed away 10 years ago, but when he was alive we always tried to come down to honour Remembrance Day with him.  Now, it’s not every year that we get ‘home’, but every couple of years.  This year, my time off from work added up to 5 days so we decided to make a mini-holiday of it.  Also, there was a birthday party for my brother-in-law to attend and that sealed the deal.

We’ve been here since Wednesday night.  The drive down was not pleasant.  Tim and I have been having some ‘difficulties’ lately.  So, we weren’t talking.  I drove the entire way.  Angry.  Listening to the radio, loud, while he played with his Blackberry.  At one point, he did say to me:  “So, do you want me to drive?”  in a tone that clearly suggested he did not want to drive at all.  Of course, being stubborn and stupid, I said:  “If you can’t offer to drive, then forget it.”  This caused us to argue bitterly for about 5 minutes, then we went back to our respective silences for the remainder of the trip.  Such fun!

By the time we reached Rick and Connie’s I was exhausted and feeling sorry for myself.  Suffice it to say, I behaved badly once we got in the house.  I acted like a dopey drama queen.  And even as I was behaving so badly, a little voice in my head was yelling at me to stop, but would I listen?  No!  So, the next morning, after some sleep, I sheepishly apologized to my husband of 31 years, and to Rick and Connie for behaving like such a fool.

52 years old and I can still act like an idiot.  Proof, I guess that my life is still evolving and that age does not necessarily equal wisdom.

6 Comments

  1. Lori said,

    November 13, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Kath hang in there we are all human and when feeling vulnerable, tired and stressed we tend to act out instead of thinking first. We have all been there done that. And yes feel badly afterward, like you said you recognized it and apologized. That’s all you can do. Now get some much needed rest and call me when you can.
    Love your sis Lori

    • klrs09 said,

      November 13, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Thanks, Lori. I so needed that. Will call when I get home.

  2. souldipper said,

    November 13, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Let it go, Kath. You made your amends and it’s now time to forgive yourself. I’ve learned this is the hardest step.

    From all that I hear from reliable sources, 31 years doesn’t guarantee perfection. Only progress. Maybe next time, you will be able to listen to that inner voice…sooner.

    As I get older, I think I just do a better job of screwing up! 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      November 16, 2010 at 8:49 pm

      Thanks Amy. In my own defence I had just gotten over a nasty bout of the flu, worked all day and then drove in the dark for 6 hours. I was pretty much done by the time we got to Lethbridge. Still, I am a grown-up . . . I think.

  3. Cindy said,

    November 13, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Don’t beat yourself up too much Kathy, we all have those times.

    • klrs09 said,

      November 16, 2010 at 7:12 am

      Thanks Cindy for the words of support — I was feeling pretty sorry for myself — went on to have a wonderful visit and mini-vacation from responsibility.


Leave a Reply

