Thursday, Jan. 20th, 2011

It’s been a long, cold 20 days here in Bon Accord.  And the rest of Alberta.  Actually, the last couple of days haven’t been half bad.  Yesterday the daytime temp got to about – 8 for a high — it was about -10 while I was out on supervision at noon.  The first time in over two weeks that the kids had been able to get out.  No, wait a minute, that’s a lie, they were out the day before, too.

Keeping kids cooped up for too long is just a bad idea.  Now all we have to do is keep them from killing themselves on the giant mountain of snow out in the field.

Something happens to us adults as well once we’ve been confined indoors for too long.  I noticed in myself that I was getting very bitchy, very negative, and even though I knew I wasn’t behaving oh, let’s say, admirably, I was powerless to stop.  Well, maybe not powerless, it might be more accurate to say unable or unwilling, to even try stopping.  Hopefully, with this break in the weather I’ll find better, more productive things to do with my time and energy.

I have a daily ritual in which I speak out loud all the things for which I am grateful.  It goes something like this:

I am grateful for my life.  I am grateful for all the good things in my life.  I am grateful for my husband.  I am grateful for our son, his wife and family, my beautiful grandchildren who bring me so much joy.  I am grateful for my home. I am grateful for my body and my health. . . and so it goes.  Performing this recitation of all the things I have to be thankful for in my life has gone a long way in helping me to keep grounded and focused on what is important.  (It obviously doesn’t keep me from becoming cranky and negative all the time — lol!) but it does usually put me in a good frame of mind as I begin my day.

I think that what I’m learning lately is that I have to carry that feeling of gratefulness forward throughout the day.  That I have to remind myself at small moments in my day to continue to be grateful, especially at those moments when I’m feeling anything but.

It’s amazing how much more growing and learning I have to do yet — thirty years ago I would have presumed that I would know it all by this age.  Hah!

7 Comments

  1. Cindy said,

    January 20, 2011 at 7:20 am

    I take my hat off to you for finding the positive, I would go stir crazy in that climate.

  2. Jill said,

    January 20, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Every year they talk about getting rid of that damn hill, and every year it springs back! I hate that hill.

  3. Chloe said,

    January 21, 2011 at 3:42 am

    Hi – sorry it’s been a while 😀 Hope 2011 is going well for you.

    Thanks for sharing the pics – they’re gorgeous…although I don’t think I’d like to have to deal with such cold temperatures.

    You were talking of being grateful – I recently wrote a poem about it, that you might like…and it might help during those times when you feel less than at your best… http://chloerichmond.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/be-grateful/

    Have a good day – and stay warm xx

  4. Mary Dunn said,

    January 25, 2011 at 5:53 am

    …….The recent events that have happened in the last week have somewhat frightened my soul. We treat ourselves to such food and beverages that are harmful to us in the long run yet we ignore blissfully the reality most of the world in in hunger. That in the blink of an eye there is another child out there who died due to hunger and malnutrition.We live in a world that is torn apart by creed.

    • klrs09 said,

      January 25, 2011 at 7:12 am

      Yes, sadly that is our reality. Thank you for your comment, glad you dropped by.


Leave a Reply

