April 11th — Spring has sprung

The road to . . . everywhere

I think, Amy, that you sent me a very strong message today.  Thank you.

I had sought some advice from Amy, aka SoulDipper, about why meditation was so difficult for me.  In her answer she replied that it was hard and then offered this:   “The reason it’s hard? You need to practice it and do it faithfully. It is so worth it!”

I heard something else in her answer, something I desperately needed to hear.

Lately, well, actually it’s been for a long while now, I’ve been struggling with what it is I’m actually doing with my life.  I’ve been doing a lot of running away —  from myself, my goals, my dreams, my expectations.  It’s like I got to this point where I said I can’t do this anymore, I just want to do nothing.  And that is exactly what I’ve been doing.

I’ve had some tear-filled moments of desperate self-pity and soul-wracking self-doubt; nothing I’m proud of, believe me.  It got me nowhere.  Only more confused, really.

So, I picked up a few books and read.  I dabbled in my personal journal, cleaned my house, started cooking again, and planned a vacation.  All of it about running away.  Avoidance.

Last night I decided to check in on some friends and see what was up in their lives (their blog-lives, anyway) and I was wonderfully surprised at how everything was pretty much the same as when I last checked in nearly a month ago.  They’ve been living their lives, posting their posts and sharing their pictures, thoughts, humour and wisdom.  I felt immediately comforted.  And sorry that I had let myself slip away.

Then, while reading Amy’s post I felt moved by what she had written about loving and forgiveness.  As I read on I was struck by her words about the importance of meditation and the peace it can bring to one’s life.  I wondered why it was that I couldn’t meditate.  And the next thought I had was about how this was just one more thing I had failed at.

So, feeling sorry for myself — again — I added ‘can’t meditate’ to my list of things tried but not accomplished.  Then I posted a reply and asked Amy if it was my own fear preventing me from being successful at meditation.  My answer was right there in my question, but I failed to heed it, if I had I probably would have hit delete.  Thankfully, Amy said exactly what needed saying.

I fail because I don’t practice and am not faithful.  It’s got nothing to do with anything but me and my efforts.  For years I’ve been saying how I’m going to achieve success as a writer, and for years I’ve been failing.  But, instead of doing something about it, I hid behind excuses.

I know I get overwhelmed with other problems, with the expectations I have of myself and others (those can be SOOO unrealistic, believe you me!), with my job, my Union responsibilities, my family, my yard, my house, my spare time or lack of it, with impending retirement (HA!), and the list goes on, and on, and on. . .  but the truth is if that I want to be the success I wish to be then it is all up to me.  I must practice daily and do it faithfully.

Thank you, Amy, for your wisdom and your kindness.  I’m so glad I chose last night to ‘visit’.

4 Comments

  1. Cindy said,

    April 11, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    A very honest and heartfelt post, Kathy. Best of luck with moving forward, don’t be too hard on yourself. xxx

  2. souldipper said,

    April 12, 2011 at 1:15 am

    The most important point is one you made, Kathy: “My answer was right there in my question…”

    One boat at a time! And lots of love.

  3. Chloe said,

    April 19, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    A great post and, if it makes you feel any better than you did at the time of posting, I want you to know that we all feel like this – and for some of us often.

    Like Souldipper said in her comment above, ‘one boat at a time’…and, I’d like to add that, apparently, we could eat a whole elephant if a) we had the desire to b) did not object to doing so and c) chopped it into bite size pieces.

    The key to any success is the actual DOING it…little by little, until the larger goal is achieved. And we deserve to be grateful for any success made along the way…without beating ourselves up that we have not yet made that final goal.

    Keep smiling and thanks for passing on your wisdom and great findings with us, your friends in blogosphere xx

    • klrs09 said,

      April 22, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Thank you, Chloe. It’s been a bit of a struggle this year — possibly something to do with the length of our winter and the unbelievably cold temps we endured. I double up on my Vitamin D throughout the ‘dark months’ but I just don’t think it was enough. I’m feeling more positive every day, just have to keep reminding myself of Amy’s wonderful words. Have a great Easter!


Leave a Reply

