Thursday, April 14, 2011

Well, we got hit by a doozy of a Spring storm today.  The snow started about 9:30 this morning and it’s still comin’ down.  The winds have been ferocious.  It’s all supposed to be over at around 3 a.m.  We’ll see. I’m definitely not holding my breath.

When I got home from work my driveway was snowed in.  So, I parked in the only clear spot I could find, went and picked the garbage bin up from where it had got blown over and trudged miserably into the house.  The shovel knocked questioningly against the wall as I walked past; I didn’t bother to even glance in its direction.

Instead, I got a blanket and a pillow and I curled up on the couch for a nap.  It was lovely.  For about half an hour, then I was awakened by a strange noise.  It sounded like something being knocked against the house.  I thought maybe a downspout had come loose but when I checked, nothing.

I wandered about the house listening carefully, it seemed to be mainly focused in the living room where I had been sleeping — of course.  Finally, I came to the conclusion that it had to be the whirlygig thingy on the roof.  It sounded as though it was turning with a great deal of difficulty.  No doubt because snow and ice was impeding its progress while the wind struggled mightily to make it turn at a thousand miles an hour.  All in all it was annoying.  I had no choice but to get up and figure out something to do with ground turkey for supper.

I made comfort food.  It was good.  I read more of the third book of the Millenium Series — The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, by Stieg Larrson — while I ate it.  It was good.  Then I did the dishes.  That wasn’t so good, but it had to be done.  Then I poured myself a glass of port and read some more.  Better.

Tomorrow is Friday, I’m glad.  It’s been a long week.  I’m looking forward to a good weekend, some fun with friends and possibly an end to this damn snow!

7 Comments

  1. Cindy said,

    April 14, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    You’ve made me curious about orange port, I am going on a hunt for it.
    Enjoy your weekend, keep warm.

    • klrs09 said,

      April 15, 2011 at 7:07 am

      Thanks Cindy, you too. The port is homemade. My husband and I ‘make’ wine at home, the chocolate-orange port intrigued me as I love port. It is delicious, I’ve never seen anything similar, though, on the shelves of local liquor stores.

  2. souldipper said,

    April 15, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Oh boy…I’m amazed you even go to work if you’ve been dabbling in the Stieg Larrson books! I also watched all of the movies which followed the books very well. It’s intriguing how an author can include so much violence and yet the masses are devouring every word. A friend and I decided it had to be because the reader is on her side BIG TIME from the get-go! I loved all her FU outfits in the movies.

    Enjoy the weekend! (I tried to see where Cindy saw “orange” port. Do you think she’d been celebrating her blogiversary a little too much? 😀 )

    • klrs09 said,

      April 15, 2011 at 7:12 am

      I’m enjoying the “Girl. . .” books quite a lot, but I find there is just waaay too much minute detail when he gets into describing how magazines, gov’t agencies, spy agencies, banks, etc., etc. work. To my mind the books were written with movies clearly in mind. That said, they are very well done, you do feel a strong empathy for Lisbeth, Mikael, well, he’s just the tool, although I get the impression he’s supposed to be more the hero than her.

      The orange port, is the chocolate-orange port I mentioned having after my comfort food supper. Looking outside this morning I should probably lug a bottle to work!

  3. Engelbert said,

    April 16, 2011 at 5:08 am

    I’m enjoying the “Girl. . .” books quite a lot, but I find there is just waaay too much minute detail when he gets into describing how magazines, gov’t agencies, spy agencies, banks, etc., etc. work. To my mind the books were written with movies clearly in mind. That said, they are very well done, you do feel a strong empathy for Lisbeth, Mikael, well, he’s just the tool, although I get the impression he’s supposed to be more the hero than her.
    +1

  4. April 17, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    I think I understand why so many wonderful people from Canada join us in fleeing winter here in Palm Desert. I suspect that when we return to Reno we may have another visit from the snow gods. :0)

    • klrs09 said,

      April 22, 2011 at 8:53 am

      I shudder to think! However, that said, it’s not the end of May yet. . .


Leave a Reply

