Aaah…

. . . first day of summer break.

Can you say relief?  Good God I am so glad to finally be on holiday.

Not that we’re doing much.  There will be a trip to my sister’s place later on this summer with my son’s family, but until then it will just be chillin’ at home and tending to all the little (and not so little) jobs I’ve neglected over the winter months.

I am really looking forward to getting some serious writing done.  I have a couple of projects in the works and so have committed myself to a couple of hours writing time each day.  Then there is the organizing (and culling) of my photographs.  I need to reinstall Photoshop — that is scaring the hell out of me.

Photoshop is one of those programs that makes me feel awkwardly stupid — I don’t understand how to manipulate layers or where my edited copies go after I’ve saved them.  It’s a snobby, but rightfully so because it’s so brilliant, program.  I will just have to do my best to contend with it.

Then there is gardening.  Much to do outside, but always enjoyable work.  I love pulling weeds, talking to my flowers, filling my bird bath, just putzing about out in the yard.  I listen to the birds, I catch snippets of conversation from passersby, smile at the kids riding by on their bikes and simply, genuinely enjoy breathing and being without any sort of stress hanging over me.  I do some of my best thinking and planning when I’m out amongst my plants.

I have a few maintenance type chores I want to tend to this summer, as well.  My bathroom cupboard and baseboards need a paint touch-up, and the whole room needs a cleaning from top to bottom.  Which will be easy because the entire room is tile.  Even the ceiling.  So, it should be a relatively quick and satisfying job to complete.

I need, also, to restain and reseal the windows on the south side of the house.  They look awful.  Plus, of course the windows all need cleaning.  I chore I hate.  I do the outsides once a year ( I can hear the gasps of horror), the insides of the lesser used windows maybe twice a year.  Main windows get a bit more cleaning, but really, this is not one of those jobs that I happily approach.

If there is time I would like to repaint the bedroom my grandchildren stay in when they come for a visit.  And the guest bedroom in the basement.  Though my own bedroom has never been painted in the 21 years we have lived in this house it will wait — I would like to remodel the entire room, so painting it seems like a waste of time, energy and money to me.

My husband has promised me (sort of) that he will build my deck this summer.  I really, really hope so.  I want so badly to buy a new barbecue!  Long story and an example of my stubbornness.  But more than that I want to be able to sit outside and enjoy my surroundings again, I want to be able to entertain people in my back yard, to be able to sit outside and enjoy the beauty of a Summer’s or early Fall’s evening.

And in amongst all that I want to have time to just sit and relax with glass of wine and a good book.

I’ve got seven weeks.  What are my chances?

10 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    July 1, 2011 at 9:30 am

    Good morning Kath,
    Sounds like a busy but relaxing summer. I was hoping I could come up for a couple of days by myself this summer, but we’ll have to see how our schedules work out. It would be nice to hang out, play cards, go to a movie, drink a little( or a lot) and just visit. We have a busy summer too.
    I hope you get your deck this year, because you deserve a new BBQ.
    Will talk soon
    Jenn

  2. souldipper said,

    July 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Phew, Kath! I’m tired after just reading your to-do list. When I worked full time, a rule of thumb I followed…I would not spend my spare time doing jobs I loathed. I paid someone to do it for me. Makes for a much better way to do R & R.

    Hope your summer is fabulous.

    • klrs09 said,

      July 1, 2011 at 9:28 pm

      Thanks Amy, it sounds like a lot, but — yeah I guess it is a lot. LOL I’d pay someone to do this stuff for me, but out here in the boondocks there’s no one to get. Sigh. Hope you’re having a wonderful summer.

  3. siggiofmaine said,

    July 1, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    I like the idea of paying someone to do the “to do” list…
    hindsight is 20/20 for me…
    this time around…for the final time…someone is going to do most of it for
    me. The photos and paintings have to be done by me…I tried to pay grandchildren to help, but even the money didn’t outweigh the boredom of the job.

    Your goals are admirable and I wish you good luck if you enjoy the tasks. …

    ☮ ♥. Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • klrs09 said,

      July 1, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      My oldest grandchild is only 6, and much as I know she’d love to help, well, that would just be wrong. LOLOL! I plan on pacing myself and the most important thing on my to do list is to write. So, I’m a realist, and 7 weeks isn’t a lot of time so I’ll be happy with whatever I manage to accomplish. Hope you’re enjoying your summer.

  4. Cindy said,

    July 1, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Kathy, your job-jar sounds too full, do the relaxing first and enjoy it 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      July 1, 2011 at 9:32 pm

      Well, today we went looking for new patio doors — can’t have a new deck without some new doors! That caused a little bit of stress, and we’ve got to go back in to town tomorrow to extend our search. Once that deck is built, I guarantee I’ll be doing some major relaxing!

  5. July 2, 2011 at 8:30 am

    I hope the days stretch endlessly our for you, Kathy 🙂 School holidays can be the sweetest of times.

    • klrs09 said,

      July 2, 2011 at 9:21 pm

      Thank you Kate. Yes, I truly love my summer break.


Leave a Reply

