I’m not ready to change my theme apparently. . .

So, this morning I got the bright idea to change my sites’ theme.  Bad idea.

I chose the new one, Manifest, thinking it looked nice and clean, uncluttered a new look for my new attitude.  I clicked ‘activate’ and voila I had a new look.

It was terrible.  Just a plain white screen and no sidebars.  Everything was gone!  Now, I probably could have re-added everything, but I don’t know how.  I went to the widgets area and clicked on all the widgets I currently have, but to no avail.  None of my links, no pages, no calendar, zilch, zero, nada, nothing appeared.

Scared witless I then wondered how in the hell do I get my stuff back?  So, I went to the themes and searched until I found my old friend, Thirteen, and clicked ‘activate’ again.  And, voila! it all came back.

Huge sigh of relief.

I would like to create a new look for my page, but as I am so totally inept at it does anyone have any advice?

I am looking for something that is a tad more professional looking, a little more writerly and clean.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

For now, though, I am just immensely grateful that I have everything back the way it was.  Although I did make one minor little change.

Did I mention that I don’t do change well?

5 Comments

  1. siggiofmaine said,

    July 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Thank you…a laugh with you, not at you…thinking of when i tried that the other day…I thought I’d crashed my computer…a totally white screen with NOTHING on it…not a word, icon or zip.! I, unlike you, have no idea how I got my original page back !
    Thank you for sharing and making an ol’ lady laugh ☺.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. souldipper said,

    July 23, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Oh the joy of finding our way back! I decided I was going to change my operating system from Windows to Ubuntu – for all sorts of good reasons. I got snagged on a very silly minor thing and couldn’t do it. I asked my IT friend who assured me that the snag did me a favour unless I wanted to relearn how to do lots of stuff that I take for granted now.

    So I grinned as I read this, Kathy. I came back to my old OS, tail between my legs, grateful that everything forgive me and returned. 😀

  3. Cindy said,

    July 25, 2011 at 3:33 am

    Oh you must have had such a fright. I changed my theme a while back and it took me ages to tweak it until it felt right.

  4. Pseu said,

    July 26, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    You need a tame 17 year old to hand to sort out the techie stuff!


Leave a Reply

