Sunday morning

Well, our lovely late summer weather has broken.  For the past week or so we’ve been enjoying temps in the high 20’s and low 30’s.  It’s been heavenly, except when I have a hotflash.  Today, we’ve got clouds, cooler temps and the possibility of rain.  Good weather for me to get out and get the Fall gardening done.

Ten things I am grateful for today:

1.  Little 3-year-old Kienan was returned safe and sound to his family in Sparwood last night.  This after being abducted during the night on Wednesday.  I think our entire nation was also held captive by this terrible story.  I am so glad he made it home.

Little Kienan, returned safe to his family Picture courtesy Google Images

2.  That there were no new terrorist attacks on this the 10th anniversary of 9/11.  I believe the world was holding it’s breath on this one.

9/11 tribute Picture courtesy Google Images

 

3.  I am so grateful that my three grandchildren are all safe and healthy.

4.  Tim and I got out for a little bike ride yesterday — motorcycle, that is.  It was a stunningly gorgeous day and it would have been a shame to miss out on the beauty of it.  The fields are all being harvested, the trees turning gold; it makes for some awe-inspiring scenery.

Autumn in Alberta

5.  This one’s a little silly — but I am grateful for my new waffle maker.  It’s the kind that rotates, just like the ones in hotels where they provide you a free breakfast and you get make your own waffles.  Tim and I discovered these on our last two trips, and when we got home we decided we just had to have one for ourselves.  It’s the best kitchen appliance I’ve purchased in years.

6.  I am grateful to Doreen, my co-worker, who brought me in the bushel of apples from her trees.  I pared, cored, sliced and diced last night and now have applesauce, as well as apples frozen for pies and muffins.

7.  Which leads me to this:  I am grateful for the manual apple/corer/slicer that Tim bought me all those years ago when we had our own apple tree in the back yard.  I could never have peeled 36 cups worth of apples without it.

makes peeling hundreds of apples easy Picture courtesy Google Images

8.  I am grateful for the upcoming camera class I am going to take.  It is local, it is moderately priced and I’m finally going to get some much-needed instruction in the use of my wonderful camera.

9.  That the people from Sunrise windows have called and I’m finally going to get my new patio doors installed.

10.  I am grateful that I have such wonderful family and friends.  That their love enriches my life, each and every day.

some of the family I'm so grateful for

 

11 Comments

  1. siggiofmaine said,

    September 11, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Thank you for sharing your list of what you are grateful for…the glorious and the mundane…for you feel it is important to be mindful of all our daily gifts and rejoice in them…how refreshing to my spirit. This is a good reminder to me to do the same.

    Thanks for sharing…and it is wonderful that little Kienan was returned safely home.

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • klrs09 said,

      September 11, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      Hope you’re having a good Sunday, Siggi. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. granny1947 said,

    September 11, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Wonderful that you have so much to be grateful for!

  3. souldipper said,

    September 11, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Way to live, Kathy! Your gratitude gives off a fabulous sense of peace – something everyone in the world craves. Yep…everyone. Even the war mongers believe they are fighting for peace. Can you imagine??

    • klrs09 said,

      September 11, 2011 at 5:07 pm

      I do believe it! Everything is all just a matter of perspective, isn’t it? Hope you’re enjoying this ‘day of peace’.

  4. Cindy said,

    September 11, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    You’re right to be grateful, Kathy, a lovely list!

  5. Cindy said,

    September 11, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    A wonderful list worthy of your gratitude 🙂 xxx

  6. September 13, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Love the list: envious of your motorbike ride. So exhilarating.


Leave a Reply

