The sky was ablaze again this morning

Not a great shot, compositionally, but I was in a hurry.  Just wanted to share the colours.

6:30 a.m. Sept. 22, 2011

It is a lovely morning here in Bon Accord.  The sky is glorious, the breeze soft and warm.  The smell of ripening apples is everywhere, and the ground is covered in brown and gold leaves.  When I step out in the morning and am confronted by the beauty of a sky like this it lifts my heart and my spirit and makes me glad to be alive.  I know I am truly blessed.

Today, at work our school is taking part in the annual Terry Fox run.  A Canadian legend, his legacy continues to inspire.  I am glad that we are going to have such a beautiful day in which to celebrate his achievements.  The river valley trail where our run takes place will be a gorgeous backdrop to this event.  I will sit in my G-spot and cheer the kids on as they run, jog, lope, walk and sometimes whine their way past me.

I’ll listen to the sounds of the birds in the bushes and trees around me, and relax to the soft rush of water below as the Sturgeon River wends its way eastward.  It’s a great way to spend an afternoon — don’t know many other jobs that have such great perks.

Enjoy the gifts you are given today.

8 Comments

  1. Cindy said,

    September 22, 2011 at 8:07 am

    Spectacular colours, enjoy your day, it sounds great fun 🙂

  2. klrs09 said,

    September 22, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Thanks, Cindy, it was.

  3. September 23, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Divine colours, Kathy. Hope you had a wonderful day.

  4. souldipper said,

    September 23, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    Hope it went well…you who didn’t get in the race! I know, you will have the perfect statement about being needed a the G-Spot. Will the kids buy it? Love the morning shot, Kath.

    • klrs09 said,

      September 25, 2011 at 6:37 pm

      The G-spot thing is a long-standing joke from when they first put me there. Deb, one of our office people started laughing and that was all she wrote! It was a lovely way to spend a beautiful Fall afternoon.

  5. wordsfallfrommyeyes said,

    September 24, 2011 at 12:44 am

    This is a lovely blog – ‘enjoy the gifts you get today’. That’s a really nice finish. Your picture is utterly beautiful. Really, you live there? Well, there’s a gift!

    • klrs09 said,

      September 25, 2011 at 6:39 pm

      Thank you! I appreciate your dropping by. I’ll come by and check out your blog.


Leave a Reply

