Tuesday afternoon

. . . feeling a bit Moody Blue.

Lots going on right now, some of it hurting my heart.  But, I have faith, and where there is love all will be well.

I’m home sick this afternoon.  Got a chest cold.  Sounds like I have a deep, sexy voice.  Unfortunately I do not feel sexy.  I just feel awful.

Because I am home sick, I was able to contact the appliance repair people and have them come during the morning to fix my fridge.  So, now, supposedly, my year-old fridge will keep a proper temperature.  However, I noticed, right after the repair man left, a tear in my linoleum.

I want to be upfront about this.  My floors are old.  The lino is at least 25 years old.  It’s got nicks and scratches and marks after that many years.  But, it did not have any great gashes in it.  I try, really hard to take good care of my home.  It’s not always the tidiest place on earth, but it is always clean.

I take care when I’m doing my weekly wash of the kitchen floor to remove any really bad marks and I only use mild cleaners like ammonia or vinegar diluted in water to wash them.  Therefore, despite their age and the odd mark here and there, the floors look pretty good.

We’ve been talking about the need to replace the flooring but have it marked down as something to do in about five years.  Seeing as our priority right now is the outside of what we lovingly refer to as “the boondocks”.   So, I’m prepared to baby my floors just than much longer.

Now, with this big gash in the floor, in an extremely high-traffic area I don’t know how well it will hold up.

I called the repair shop right away to let them know and they said they’d have the ‘technician’ call me back.  Curious as to what exactly I could expect when he did call, I called Sears corporate offices to find out.  They told me he would take pictures and submit a claim through their insurance.   They gave me a confirmation number and said goodbye.

The repair man called.  He denies there was a tear in the floor.  Says he would have pointed it out to me if he had done it.  I said, well, I didn’t notice it when you were here, either.  I noticed it when I went to get something from the fridge.  My toe caught on it.  I told him I’d already called Sears and what they said he would do. He said he’d have to wait to hear from them.

So now I sit and wait.  And waffle between feeling guilty for making a fuss over a 25-year-old floor and feeling entirely justified in making my complaint.  It is, after all, the only kitchen floor I’ve got.  And, despite its age, I still rather like it.

I am hoping this situation is resolved quickly and amicably.  What the resolution will be I have no clue.  What would be reasonable?  I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

Stuff like this makes me crazy.

A deck update:  Tim and Landon spent a day and a half getting the deck foundation all completed.  Now, Tim is at the ‘blocking’ stage and hopefully, tonight he’ll be able to start putting the actual deck boards on!  Am I excited?  You bet your sweet bippy I am!  Of course, the lower half of the deck is going to have to wait for Spring, but I’m good with that.  This upper half will satisfy my deck longing for now.

5 Comments

  1. October 11, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Hope it gets sorted out, Kathy….that deck is looking impressive though!

    • klrs09 said,

      October 11, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Thanks Kate. Sears used to be really good about customer concerns, so I’ll just have to hope they still are.

  2. siggiofmaine said,

    October 11, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Oh, dear, I hope you get a positive reply from Sears. I also live in a house that repairs are on the future list, and have a “current” list…
    I think, I would have done as you, and reported the damage…
    it’s an unplanned expense that throws the budget off…and repairmen need to be accountable for the damage…
    when I was younger, I would have not said boo, but now, unplanned surprise repairs like your floor would definitely upset me.

    And, I agree, the deck looks impressive.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • klrs09 said,

      October 11, 2011 at 10:38 pm

      Hi Siggi, yes, I was a bit taken aback when I saw the tear in my floor. Hopefully, it gets fixed without too much trouble. Good to hear from you.

  3. souldipper said,

    October 12, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Oh boy, that’s a space I don’t enjoy either. I keep telling myself that I am telling the truth. BUT when it is the truth, I get angry that I am in a position of having to defend myself.

    Enjoyed the photos on your next blog, Kath. Good point about the colour – glad to know it’s not just me not getting the colour. Sometimes, however, it’s better!


Leave a Reply

