Monday evening. . . and I’m tired

. . . but I think I’ll make some cookies!  Soft molasses drop cookies.  Because I’ve been thinking about molasses cookies for about 3 days now.

But, wait.  That was my husband just now on the phone.  He says the Northern Lights are putting on quite the display.  So, I think I’ll grab the camera and go out to get some shots.  Here’s hoping they turn out.

The cookies, I guess, will have to wait until tomorrow.

Probably for the best.

Today was a long day.  My Ford Edge had to go in for a check.  There’s an annoying squeak in the front end, and I’ve noticed a hesitation in the engine when I’m on the highway.  Never good.  So, the dealership called and said it’s something with the transmission.  They’ll need to have it for a couple of days.

Lovely.

So, I tell them they need to get me a car.  We live out of town, I don’t work in the town I live in, and, I’m busy every night this week.  Waterloo is good.  They arranged the rental for me, free of charge.  As it should be, as far as I’m concerned.  My Edge is only 1 and 1/2 years old, for crying out loud.

But, I had a meeting after work, so after begging a ride to that, the car rental company had to drive out to where I was to pick me up.  They did.  And happily.  I was very impressed.

Anyone ever needing to rent a car, definitely go with Enterprise.  They were very obliging and professional and went out of their way to be helpful.

The Northern Lights didn’t pan out.  Sorry.  By the time we found a good spot for taking pictures they had lost most of their lustre.  Damn.  Hopefully, later this evening they’ll be bright again and I can go out and try to get some shots from the field across from our house.

The appliance repair guy is supposed to be coming by tomorrow to take photos of my damaged floor.  Now, I’m beginning to doubt whether there was any point in complaining.  It’s doubtful they’ll do anything about it.  But, I suppose I won’t know unless I carry through.  So carry through I will.

Wish me luck.

It’s 8:38 now.  And all I want to do is crawl into bed and sleep.  Think I’ll have a cup of tea first, though.

Nighty-night.

12 Comments

  1. siggiofmaine said,

    October 24, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Hope everything works out well for you…especially the floor.
    Stick to your guns…no good deed goes unpunished may fit this situation if you let it ride….but that’s just me….I know you’ll do what you think is best.

    Hope you get a good nights rest and tomorrow the Northern Lights will shine for you

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • klrs09 said,

      October 25, 2011 at 7:21 am

      Thanks Siggi. I’m just so tired of always being tired — lol.

  2. souldipper said,

    October 24, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    The important part of the floor damage incident…you did not let yourself down by brushing it off. If nothing comes of that,will your insurance company come up with any help? Maybe they would demand some answers from that repair company.

    • klrs09 said,

      October 25, 2011 at 7:22 am

      That’s a great idea, Amy. I’ll have to look into that. Keeping my fingers tightly crossed that Sears will step up to the plate.

  3. Tilly Bud said,

    October 25, 2011 at 4:11 am

    How wonderful to be able to see the NL outside your front door!

    • klrs09 said,

      October 25, 2011 at 7:23 am

      Yes, it is one of the many things I try to remember to be grateful for. Someday, I’d like to go really far North, just to see the Northern Lights in absolute glory. But seeing as how I hate winter and snow so much. . .

  4. October 25, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Good to hear of a car hire company which make things a little easier, Kathy, and glad to hear routine is returning 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      October 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      Thanks, Kate. I’m beginning to feel a little more like myself everyday. Just don’t want to get too optimistic. . .

  5. wordsfallfrommyeyes said,

    October 26, 2011 at 3:23 am

    Molasses cookies? How absolutely delicious that sounds, how homely too :). Having those cookies & milk at night should give you a good night’s sleep. Good luck!

    • klrs09 said,

      October 26, 2011 at 7:32 am

      Thank you! But still haven’t got around to making them — too much other stuff keeps getting in the way! One of these days though. . .

  6. granny1947 said,

    October 27, 2011 at 4:11 am

    Oh good….I can comment…I have tried two other posts and,for some reason, I couldn’t.
    Now I have forgotten what I wanted to say!


Leave a Reply

