It’s Tuesday and I’m at 14,042 words

I’m kind of surprising and scaring myself here a little.  I’m a bit ahead of myself on the word count, which is great, but I’m beginning to wonder if my story will hold together for 50, 000 words.

Time will tell.

Right now I think the thing is getting kind of boring — I’m going to have to start jazzing things up a bit.  This is a rough draft after all.  Later on, I’ll need to sit down and really go over it with a critical eye .

But, you know what?  Mainly, I’m having fun.

This has got me thinking about all the other stuff I’ve written and that if I can sit down each night/day and pound out close to 2000 words then I can revise and resubmit some of what I’ve written and let collect dust for all these years.

I love writing.  I don’t know why I never pursued it as a way to make a living.  Well, I did once, for a short time.  And I was doing okay, until I hit a bump, lost my confidence and decided to do something safe.  Ah well, lessons in life.

So, here I am, half my life over, thinking that maybe it’s not too late.

Never give up on your dreams.  How often do we hear those words?  How many of us actually listen to them?

Thank you NaNoWriMo for the opportunity to try.

3 Comments

  1. siggiofmaine said,

    November 8, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Keep on going…you can do it. ☺.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • klrs09 said,

      November 9, 2011 at 7:08 am

      Thanks, Siggi, I think now I’ll be heading into the real ‘work’ of this exercise — beginning is easy, sustaining it, hmmm. . .

  2. kristilyn said,

    November 11, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    That’s awesome! You’re doing a great job. 🙂

    Hopping over from the link on your NaNo page … must get back to writing!


Leave a Reply

