January 1, 2012 — the hiatus is over

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope you all had a fantastic, joyous Christmas and are now enjoying a wonderful New Year.

I took a deliberate break from the internet for most of December.  Mainly because I just needed to disconnect for a while, but also because it is such a deadly busy month.  Work is stressful, getting ready for the holidays is stressful, and my body simply said:  Enough!  So, I listened.  And I did what I could and was happy with what I managed.

There is nothing seriously wrong with me — let’s get that out of the way (aside from needing a good head examination, that is) but some minor arthritis problems were flaring up and this necessitated weekly trips to the chiropractor and check-ins with the doctor, etc., etc.  Then, there is the usual mental and emotional, shall we say problems, that afflict me this time of year.  Try as I may to be the happy, carefree soul of Christmas joy and peace that I try so hard to emulate from the sappy Christmas movies and stories that I adore, it’s always a tough haul.

This year, though, I managed to come as close as I have ever imagined I could.  I had an epiphany, midway through December, a real one, and it has given me a new perspective on my life.  There was nothing so dramatic as a Clarence for me, but all the same, I felt something touch me and show me life is good and that I deserve my place in it.  And that I need to stop expecting disappointment, for it will certainly find me as long as I stand there waving my hand in its face.

As crappy as 2011 was as a year, I can be thankful that I learned something important about myself and that I can face 2012 with a sense of restored hope.  I am looking forward to accomplishing goals such as editing my NaNoWriMo novel into something publishable, spending more time with family and getting myself back in to better physical and emotional health.

To my family and friends who check in here once in a while I send you love and appreciation.

And, to each and every person who has touched my life through this blog, I wish you the very best of New Years.

It’s going to take me awhile to get caught up with everyone, but I’m going to do my very best.

 

7 Comments

  1. souldipper said,

    January 1, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    Happy New Year to you, Kathy…may you achieve all sorts of blessings in 2012 including improved and good health.

  2. granny1947 said,

    January 1, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Good Morning Kathy…so glad you are feeling more positive.
    May 2012 be a wonderful year for you.

  3. nrhatch said,

    January 1, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    I’m glad that you ended the hear on a high note. Sometimes we have a paradigm shift in our world view EXACTLY when it will most benefit us.

    Other times, we change more subtly, but change we do.

    Here’s to a magical, mystical new year . . . filled with every day miracles.

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes said,

    January 2, 2012 at 1:13 am

    I commend you for identifying what you had to do to save yourself, and then doing it. Yes, it was a hiatus, but your page stays up, your cyber space awaits your return & here you are: it’s great you’re back, Kathy.

    I’m sorry about your arthritis problems. I type a lot in my job and sometimes on random days I get a sort of – not ache, no, cramp; yes, cramp, in my fingers, and nothing helps. I do stretch them, it does pass. Ugh, is that arthritis, I wonder?

    You sound very positive for 2012 – & luck YOU having an epiphany 🙂 And you did the whole NaNoWriMo? I really admire that! Excellent! Good luck with it ALL 🙂

  5. Tilly Bud said,

    January 2, 2012 at 4:30 am

    It’s good – and necessary – to take a break sometimes. Hope 2012 is good to you.

  6. Cindy said,

    January 3, 2012 at 8:06 am

    I wish you all that you deserve in 2012. xxx

  7. January 5, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Lovely to have you back, Kathy! All the best in 2012!


Leave a Reply

