If I Were a Bear — a poem for a winter morning

If I Were A Bear

If I were a bear
I would pay no never-mind
to the rolls of fat around my middle,
to the graying, un-ruly hairs upon my head
or the wiry, scratchy ones sprouting
on my legs and beneath my arms.

No, if I were a bear
I’d snuffle out a place
warm and cozy, full of all the smells
that bring me joy and comfort,
and then I’d wrap my heart in pictures
of those I cherish so that my dreams
would be nothing but sweet.

And, if I were a bear
I’d stay snuggled down
inside my little cocoon until
the green smells of Spring tickled
my nose and my winter-claws
could no longer scratch through the matted
fur on my sun-starved hide.

If I were a bear
I’d emerge, blinking
into the bright sunlight of promise
and I’d go snorting and snuffing
looking for news of all those I left behind
while I slumbered and grew sleek
and hungry for life to return.

If I were a bear.

 

©Kathy Larson 2012
All rights reserved

9 Comments

  1. Jill said,

    January 22, 2012 at 9:42 am

    I quite liked this one, Kathy. Good work.

  2. Heather Edwards said,

    January 22, 2012 at 9:43 am

    This is wonderful Kathy!

  3. January 24, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Now I want to be a bear too.

  4. January 25, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Fun premise to write to. If I were a bear I’d stay away from the NV side of Lake Tahoe during the summer months since, in their infinite wisdom, the Dept. of Parks and Rec. or whoever decided last year it was okay to hunt them. Many of us are not happy with that. Grrr.

    • klrs09 said,

      January 28, 2012 at 9:51 am

      I think bears should be left in peace — there’s just something mystical and very majestic about them. That said, I’m scared to death of encountering one whenever I’m hiking in the mountains!

  5. klrs09 said,

    February 11, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    Reblogged this on All That Matters.


Leave a Reply

