Sunday afternoon

It’s Stupid-bowl Sunday,  oops, I mean Super-bowl Sunday.  Tim’s all geared up with beer and chips.  He’s a happy little fella.

Me?  I’m going to bake.  Granola bars and bread.  Get some stuff done for work tomorrow. Kick back, relax, read some more of Black House (which is a MAJOR disappointment, I must say), maybe contemplate beginning a crochet project.  We’ll see.

Spent the weekend at a CUPE bargaining conference.  The best I’ve ever attended.  KUDOs to our new AB Div President and the team she assembled to make this weekend such a success.

I’m not a political animal or much of a networker (probably why I’m not very successful in the things I want to be successful at — but that’s off topic) but I think I did pretty good this weekend.  I got up, for the first time ever, and spoke at the open mike.  This is just a little daunting, and in my past experience at these things, the mike is usually commandeered by a select few with a special agenda to sell.  This time, however, that wasn’t flying.  Made for a nice change.

I also spoke up and out when I had the chance.  So many of the people who attend these CUPE events are such radicals.  They see things in only one colour — black or white — neither of which is a colour, but, there you go.  I tend to see things in all shades and consider myself more of a conservative (not CONSERVATIVE) for those of you who will  jump at the chance to flog me for that choice of word.  I don’t take an extremist position or point of view, I try to see things in terms of what will work for the best for everyone.

Apparently, this makes me a weak unionist.  So be it.  I’d rather be a weak unionist who manages to get what’s best for the membership I represent, than an extremist who constantly puts their jobs in jeopardy.

Well!  I got that off my chest.

And all because I had the guts to say what I felt this weekend.  And lets face it — the signs all over the walls said to listen, respect, and contribute.  I was only doing what was expected.

On another topic entirely:  watched the movie The Help last night.  It’s a wonderful film.  If you get the chance you should see it.  I wanted to read the book first, but just knew I wouldn’t have time before the Oscars at the end of the month and I do want to see all the contenders before the awards ceremony.

It’s a wonderful story of women, both black and white, in the 50’s, and the racial and societal constraints each had to deal with.  It’s not over-wrought, there’s (thankfully) not a lot of violence, though it is alluded to.  It is a very intelligent movie with lots of humour and insight.  I don’t think I’ll ever look at a chocolate pie in quite the same way again.

Watching it I couldn’t help but admire the lovely dresses these women wore.  I often wish I had lived during that time simply so I could wear such gorgeous dresses.  Of course, I wouldn’t have wanted to live in such repressive conditions, but, oh, those dresses!

In my job wearing a dress to work would be simply stupid.  And because I’ve become so accustomed to wearing slacks, jeans and cords, when I do put a dress on I feel awkward.  Isn’t that silly?  I somehow feel like I’m “showing off” or not being my ‘real’ self.  How is that we come to place such restrictions on ourselves?  I’m thinking that maybe, just maybe, I’ll go shopping one of these days and pick myself up a couple of nice everyday dresses that I can wear around the house.  Dresses suited for doing housework, but that look feminine and pretty.

What do you think?  Am I being unrealistic?  Longing for something I never had?  An experience that I don’t even understand?  Or simply getting addled?  Help me out here with your comments!

They’ll be greatly appreciated.

Just some pics I downloaded from Google Images to illustrate the kind of dresses I’m talking about.

4 Comments

  1. souldipper said,

    February 5, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    I love a comfy dress when the weather is hot and sultry. But in winter, without slacks, it feels like I’m in a drafty log house that someone forgot to caulk!

    I just thought of something, Kath. Do you think the reason the necklines plunged so daringly is because we pull slacks over our legs and bottoms?

    Like the slogans…a lot. They apply to life in general. They work…as you proved. 😀

    • klrs09 said,

      February 5, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      Thanks Amy — I have to admit, The Help takes place in the South where it’s generally warm all year round, so wearing a dress all the time here in Alberta. . . maybe not such a great idea.

  2. Jenn said,

    February 5, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    Mom~
    I whole heartily agree! I believe that women should dress more feminine. I love skirts and dresses but the dresses out there are not functional anymore. I have one summer dress that I can throw on and clean and care for the kids in and I love it.
    If they made dresses like the ones you posted I would wear one every day.

    • klrs09 said,

      February 6, 2012 at 7:43 am

      Thanks, Jennifer! I just think they had such beautiful, but simple styles then. And everyone seemed to look nice. Can just hear the feminists screaming right now!


Leave a Reply

