Monday, Feb. 27, 2012

Well, the Oscars weren’t much to waste 3 hours on, but I did it anyway.  Sigh.  Billy Crystal wasn’t all that funny; I found some of the comments he made kind of rude, actually.  The gowns most of the women wore were gorgeous, but what was that thing with Angelina Jolie and her skinny leg?  Bizarre.

Unfortunately, the only movies I saw out of this year’s crop were The Help and Hugo.  Hugo was terrible; The Help fantastic.  I was pulling for The Help to win, but The Artist looks like a fabulous film, so I’m going to have to reserve my opinion until I see it.  I was happy for Meryl Streep (isn’t she absolutely gorgeous?) and thrilled for Christopher Plummer — the way he bounded up those stairs you wouldn’t think for a moment that he’s 82.

But, it’s all behind us for another year.  Just one question though, why was there only two songs nominated?  Does no one care about the music that accompanies movies anymore?

We had our blizzard.  Our burrowed into the house with my books and waited it out.  It was lovely.  Tim was away and I had the house entirely to myself.  Quiet.  Long stretches of it.  Bliss.

And then, I had to face the hip-deep drifts of snow that had blown into my driveway.  My doorway and steps and walkway were obliterated by snow.  I headed outside around 11:30 yesterday anticipating a couple of hours of back-breaking lifting and heaving.  I got the steps, landing and walk done, and then the driveway around my car.  As I was getting ready to tackle the deepest stuff, though, my neighbour from across the way came over with his snowblower and did it for me!  I can’t tell you how grateful, how relieved I was that he did that for me.  I finished up in just over an hour.  So very, very grateful.

Now, we’ve got just over a month to go before Spring is here once again.  I love that the mornings are getting lighter and lighter each day.  I can feel myself waking up again.   The world is a wonderful place.

5 Comments

  1. February 27, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Gorgeous pictures Kathy: what a white-out! We’re nearly there. It has been a long winter.

    • klrs09 said,

      February 28, 2012 at 12:40 pm

      Thanks Kate! I really shoudn’t complain — we’ve had a lovely winter (for the most part) with very mild temps. It’s just I really want to see green things again.

  2. February 28, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    I love how Jolie’s leg became a star of its own! And all that snowfall looks lovely.

    • klrs09 said,

      February 28, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks for dropping in! Yes, I’m still puzzling over the whole significance of ‘the leg’. But, my God, is she ever skinny!

  3. souldipper said,

    February 28, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    I just read a blog from South Africa. The woman was asked: If you were kicked out of your country, where would you go? Know what she said?! NOT CANADA. I’D DIE!

    I laugh like crazy as I see all my bulbs coming up nicely in the middle of Canada’s winter season. The green grass on the lawn is close to needing cutting.

    Then I come and see your post. Whoa! No wonder someone would say that. Those photos would cause me to postpone a quick trip to Alberta! 😀


Leave a Reply

