Saturday morning

This is just a quick post to say I’m still alive and well.  It’s just that It’s nearing the end of the school year and that means it is particularly busy.

Even as an education assistant this means there is a lot of extra work.  The teachers have it harder, believe me, but we EA’s work our butts off, too, during this time.

Last night, I attended our Grade 9’s Farewell fling.  Most of the time these kids make me want to scream because of the way they act, but last night they were wonderful.  They looked so gorgeous dressed up, pretending to be adults.  They’re on their way, that’s for sure, but they still have a way to go.

Though our school has toned down the farewell thing for grade 9’s I still can’t quite wrap my head around how much money parents (some) spend on this.  At least the dresses are not in the $500 – $800 range.  But they are still pricey.  A few of the girls were dressed a tad too scantily, but they conducted themselves appropriately.  All in all, I’d have to say it was a huge, beautiful success.

I wish them well as they head into exams and contemplate the years of high school ahead of them.  Oh, the Comp is going to be such a different world!  Many of them have such an awakening coming to them, it’s going to be tough at first.  But if last night’s glimpse at their potential holds true, they’ll do just fine.

In between school stuff and CUPE stuff I’ve been trying to work out in the yard.  So far, I’ve only managed a couple of hours a week, but I’m hoping to get more time in this weekend.  I’m currently clearing my rock paths of all the poppies and dandelions.  Armed with a paint scraper (great for shearing them off at ground level) and a bottle of undiluted vinegar (kills weeds without all the toxic side effects) I am determined that once again I will be able to clearly see the paths I so painstakingly laid two years ago.

I have big gardening plans this year.  I want to grow as many vegetables in pots that I can.  This was inspired by one of Soul Dipper’s Occupy Blogosphere posts from a while back.  It has become so important to all of us to try to eat as much self-produced food as we can.  Not only because of the fear of unknown contaminants and genetic modifications, but simply because it is better for us in all ways.

Growing even a  tiny bit of the food you feed yourself and your family provides a sense of pride and accomplishment.  It teaches responsibility and the need for diligence.  It’s good for the soul — gets you back to the earth, so to speak, even if it is potting soil.  It adds beauty to your surroundings and provides a sense of holistic balance.  And, it saves you a few dollars.  Which, these days, is mightily important.

Anyway, folks, I just wanted to come in for a quick touchdown, say hi, and then vamoose for a little while again.  Until the holidays are here my posts will be very sporadic.  I do try to sneak in for a peek at many of your blogs just to see  what you’re up to.  I comment when I think I have the time.

Take care; I hope you’re enjoying your summer (or winter).

10 Comments

  1. wightrabbit said,

    June 2, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Hi, Kathy, thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this lovely post. The teachers here are stressed out too – major exams are looming, coursework has to be submitted and students would rather be in the sunshine than the classrooms! Thank you for the tip weed killing- I’ve been struggling to get out all the dandelion roots. Like you, I’m growing veg in pots and raised beds – rings crossed that they survive! 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      June 3, 2012 at 11:58 am

      Hi! Glad to hear from you. If you can get your hands on pickling vinegar it works even better than normal vinegar. Just a stronger acetic acid content. Be careful not to get it on to anything else because it will damage them. Good luck with your veggie pots!

  2. souldipper said,

    June 2, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Kathy, I think of all that fabulous black soil you have and drool. I composted all winter long, turned soil and it still doesn’t come close to the black loam from home.

    I’m having a royal battle with the Tent Caterpillars this year. I go out in shifts on a killing spree (by hand, no chemicals) protecting my plants, flowers and small shrubs. The trees are gonners. My neighbours’ apple trees are stripped bare of leaves.

    Oh, Nature, you violent Mother! If a human did that, the poor thing would be as stripped as the tree!

    I cannot help but feel relief that I am not in a School District in June and September. You’ll be able to say that one day, Kath!

    • klrs09 said,

      June 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm

      Eww — tent caterpillars! We were just talking about how lucky we are not to have had any for the last couple of years. They seem to come in 7-year cycles. I am deathly afraid of caterpillars — silly, I know. And when the tent’s are around I don’t like to venture out doors. Good luck with your battles with them!

      • souldipper said,

        June 3, 2012 at 7:18 pm

        Just in case you planned to come for tea, wait a couple of weeks. I can’t deal with caterpillars and a woman who will faint frequently unless we keep her indoors with the blinds closed so she can’t see the trees!

      • klrs09 said,

        June 3, 2012 at 8:20 pm

        LOL! Some day Amy I’ll take you up on that cup of tea!

  3. June 2, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    We are, Kathy: and I have been inspired on the gardening front – our guerilla gardening schemes double my determination to use my own patch of ground. Have a wonderful time gardening this Summer.

    • klrs09 said,

      June 3, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      Thanks, Kate! I hope you post some pictures — would love to see your efforts. I went out and bought more plants yesterday — hopefully get most of them in before Tuesday when the rain is supposed to start.

  4. granny1947 said,

    June 3, 2012 at 4:46 am

    My word you are a busy bee.
    Like you I am amazed at the money spent on school dances….it is very scary.

    • klrs09 said,

      June 3, 2012 at 12:03 pm

      Hi there! Not nearly as busy as you, I think! Hope all is settling down in your new home.


Leave a Reply

