It was a grey and overcast morning. . .

I finally managed to get into my perennial bed in the front yard.  It’s a mess.  The ferns have gone on a riot and tried to take over the lily beds.  Well, I went at them with a pitchfork and yanked most of them out.  I will be giving a bunch to a friend of Tim’s who wants them for around her fish pond.  Better place for them, I think.

It has been a very rainy June so far, which is okay, because we desperately need the moisture, but it is starting to get a bit tedious.  As I’ve stated earlier I don’t have much time right now because work is winding up and I am very busy with union business, so, when I have a few hours I like to get outside and get mucking around in the dirt.  It’s tough to do that when everything is soggy and you’re essentially mucking around in mud.

I have plans to spend the rest of my day outside getting the perennial bed cleaned up and deciding where to transplant some things that desperately need it.

When I first looked at it yesterday I wanted to throw my hands up in defeat, but, instead, I just picked a place to start and before I knew it things weren’t looking too bad.  I have to be so careful around the lilies, it’s tough not to disturb them when I’m viciously yanking ferns out by their hairy roots.

In digging up one particularly large bunch of ferns I dug up a huge ant’s nest.  Holy crow did they go on the defense!  Every time I plunged my fork into the ground I had dozens of them jumping on to my arms.  Fortunately they’re easy to brush off and I attacked them back with great zeal.  (I have I said how much I hate ants, before?)

Hate is really too strong a word — I don’t hate them, I just hate them being in my garden, on my deck, in my house. . .

Anyway, today, I’ll go back out there and disturb them some more and hopefully they’ll pack up and move on.  I have tried everything else to get rid of them.  Nothing works.  Permanently.  Ants are like that.  Pests.

Well, much as I’d love to sit here and write for hours, I can’t.  I need to go eat my oatmeal — because I was very bad last night and ate pizza after ten o’clock!  I suffered all night.  And then I was feeling guilty because I’ve actually being doing okay with the Biggest Loser challenge at work.  I’m losing steadily (not a lot, but a little each week) and I’m actually quite proud of myself.  So, why I went and sabotaged myself with pizza (that wasn’t even all that good) I can’t figure.

Lesson learned, I suppose.

17 Comments

  1. souldipper said,

    June 16, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    I had an ant episode, too…I compost in the dirt beds around the perimeter of the house. I can’t plant things because deer just eat it all. So I keep enriching the soil. Seems I made a bunch of little red ants quite happy. They went nuts when I shoveled up their nest!

    Because I bury the composting very carefully, Duc le Chat decided it was a grand new soft bed. He plopped down on top with ants running around like their kitchen was on fire and tent caterpillars streaming to fresh greenery in droves.

    Animals!

    Remember to tell your body all the stuff you like about it!

    • klrs09 said,

      June 17, 2012 at 10:27 am

      Every time you mention tent caterpillars I get a shiver! Am SO grateful we don’t have any here this year.

      Didn’t the ants attack your poor cat? I’m going out with a bucket of diatamaceous (sp?) earth today after I discovered yet another massive ant hill. I realize everything has a right to live, but why do they have to pick my yard to do it in? Sigh.

      • souldipper said,

        June 17, 2012 at 1:02 pm

        One of my very good friends has the Pest Control business here so she looks after any carpenter ants. The other ants, I don’t care about. With our warmer winters and heavy foliage, carpenter ants are as real pest – especially when you find one of the beams in your home is hollow!!

        Duc has not relinquished his heavy winter coat yet!! Bad sign weatherwise. However it protects him from nasties. We have several people on the island who suffer from Lymes disease so I’m glad his coat is a deterrent.

  2. Yvonne Murphy said,

    June 16, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    I love your writing it is absolutely hilarious I’m just starting my perannuals just wondering if I should just joking..finally a beautiful day the twins and their dad are here for an overnight it’s been a very busy day at the lake. Love to hear from you…take care

    • klrs09 said,

      June 17, 2012 at 10:28 am

      Hi Yvonne! thanks for the comment — we should have a chat one of these days — would love to catch up with you.

  3. wightrabbit said,

    June 17, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Seems like the wet weather has prevented us both from getting out there and taking control of our gardens, Kathy. I tend to favour the wilderness approach, myself with shrubs and flowers providing total ground cover. But there are still some weeds poking through, pruning to be done, pest control and feeding to be carried out. As you say, you just have to get out there and start, somewhere. Please don’t beat yourself up about the pizza ~ I’m sure your healthy eating will balance out that one tiny slip! 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      June 17, 2012 at 10:29 am

      I got a great deal done yesterday, felt like I’d accomplished a lot. Today, I’ve got housework to catch up on while my hubby is out celebrating Father’s Day with our son. I ate a cartload of veggies and fresh fruit yesterday to make up for the pizza!

  4. June 21, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Few people know what goes into creating a bed of perennials until they have a go themselves…glad you managed to brave the ants and the mud and create something which will grow beautiful this summer 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      June 24, 2012 at 7:12 pm

      Thanks Kate! and today I went out and shopped the garden center sales and brought home more to dig in! Yay!

  5. jinkspots said,

    June 22, 2012 at 6:16 am

    Did you know, ants were around when the dinosaurs were here? AND their combined weight equals more than the combined weight of all homo sapiens?! When I read that it made me feel like maybe this planet is really ant planet and we’re just visiting for a while… I love silly bits of information like this. It somehow seems to help keep things in perspective…

    I can’t really see the ‘mess’ in your ‘mess I’m in’ photo. You should have seen our garden after being on the road for six months! They have these amazing weeds here that grow about 3-4 feet high. They were everywhere. And I have located at least four wasps nests around the place too… one of them is the most amazing shape. A kind of upside-down gourd. It’s beautiful actually. I didn’t realise wasps could make such works of art. I guess we all have our part to play, even the pests…

    The worst thing about the pizza is you didn’t enjoy it. There’s no shame in a little indulgence every now and again! (psssst, you deserve it!) x

    • klrs09 said,

      June 24, 2012 at 7:15 pm

      Thanks so much for the uplifting comments. What comes to mind when you were writing about the ants is (for some un-godly reason) Planet of the Apes! Can’t quite figure out the connection — yet. The garden is beginning to take shape. I’ll be posting more pictures soon.

      • jinkspots said,

        June 26, 2012 at 8:01 am

        I’m intrigued by the reference to Planet of the Apes! I’d love to know where that one goes, if anything else comes to you on that one! And please do post more pictures. Watching a garden, any garden, develop is always a joy. Thank you for sharing x

  6. SidevieW said,

    June 24, 2012 at 9:27 am

    getting in and making a difference in the garden is so rewarding

    • klrs09 said,

      June 24, 2012 at 7:15 pm

      It really is — I love the sweat and dirt and the rewarding feeling once I have it tamed (if only for the briefest of moments.)

  7. Tilly Bud said,

    June 25, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Well done on losing weight! They say the slower it comes off, the longer it stays off 🙂

    • klrs09 said,

      June 25, 2012 at 5:32 pm

      Thanks Tilly, I’ve got one more weigh in before we break for the summer. Am hoping to hit a milestone! Will definitely keep up with this over the summer. I’m actually enjoying feeling a little lighter.

  8. responsetonoeleen said,

    July 31, 2012 at 2:10 am

    Noeleen’s sister exercises her right of reply at: responsetonoeleen.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

