Saturday night

I’m sitting here on a balmy Saturday night watching Forrest Gump.  I love this movie, but I’ve only watched it once.  Now that I’ve got the time and I’m feeling leisurely, I think I’ll just indulge myself and stay up and watch it. “Run, Forrest, run!”

My first week of holidays has been pretty good.  I haven’t worked too terribly hard, though I have made myself a pretty extensive to-do list.  I’ve even managed to accomplish a fair number of small tasks.  I’ve gone and got the paint and tomorrow hope to get started painting the spare bedroom in my basement.  I’m trying not to stress out about what I’m not getting done, and instead celebrate what I do manage to complete.

We’re set to have some blazing hot temps over the next few days — up into the 30’s.  Can’t wait.  I love the heat — and because we only get a handful of really hot days, I fully intend to enjoy them as much as possible.

And while we’re on the topic of heat, what goes better with heat than an ice-cold beer?  So, sitting out on my deck with a cool one in the hottest part of the day is my carrot on a stick.  I decided to try the new Coors Lite, Iced T — it was a bit of a disappointment.  So, today, I decided that seeing as how I’ve still got 5 bottles of it, I had better figure out a way to make it more palatable.  I filled a glass half way full of ice, added a couple of slices of lemon and poured the beer over it.  Well, it was delicious.

I’m at the part in the movie where Forrest saves the men in his platoon while they’re in Vietnam.  Generally, I avoid any kind of war movie, but this is a small piece of the story, albeit a very important part.   “Lieutentant Dan, I got you some ice-cream.”  I just love this movie.

We went for a little ride on the bike today and took in the St. Albert Farmer’s market.  Was wonderful.  Bought a lovely cabbage, some beets and carrots, fresh young onions and new potatoes.  Tomorrow it’s going to be a lovely coleslaw for supper, and new potatoes grilled on the bbq.  Not sure what kind of meat I’m going to serve, and, truthfully, I don’t care.  This time of the year it’s all about the veggies.

 

3 Comments

  1. granny1947 said,

    July 8, 2012 at 12:53 am

    You are sitting outside with a beer and I am huddled up in boots and two tops.
    This is Africa for crying in a bucket.
    Something is wrong with this picture.

  2. grandmalin said,

    July 8, 2012 at 10:34 am

    I’m loving our little heat wave too! Poor G1947… but all the long winter we’ve been envious of you. We love this too much. Probably the snow will fly in August 🙂

  3. July 9, 2012 at 11:32 am

    So many life lessons in that movie. Thanks for reminding me…


Leave a Reply

