If I Were a Bear — a poem for a winter morning

I’m reposting this poem because:

1. I like it, it makes me smile

2. It’s so friggin’ cold here right now, I’d like nothing more than to be a bear all snug in a cave somewhere

3. I’m trying to remind myself that Spring is just around the corner.

There.

Originally posted on January 22, 2012

All That Matters

If I Were A Bear

If I were a bear
I would pay no never-mind
to the rolls of fat around my middle,
to the graying, un-ruly hairs upon my head
or the wiry, scratchy ones sprouting
on my legs and beneath my arms.

No, if I were a bear
I’d snuffle out a place
warm and cozy, full of all the smells
that bring me joy and comfort,
and then I’d wrap my heart in pictures
of those I cherish so that my dreams
would be nothing but sweet.

And, if I were a bear
I’d stay snuggled down
inside my little cocoon until
the green smells of Spring tickled
my nose and my winter-claws
could no longer scratch through the matted
fur on my sun-starved hide.

If I were a bear
I’d emerge, blinking
into the bright sunlight of promise
and I’d go snorting and snuffing
looking for…

View original post 30 more words

Leave a Reply

